## MINUTES OF SPECIAL BOARD MEETING 5-12-2020 #991 BOARD OF EDUCATION

## CALL TO ORDER/MEETING PLACE

The Board of Education President, Ms. Barbara Laifman, called the regular meeting to order at 4:03 p.m. On March 17, 2020, Gov. Newsom issued Executive Order N-29-20 that, in part, authorized governing boards to hold public meetings via teleconference. Governing boards must still provide advanced notice of each public meeting in accordance with the Brown Act and make public meetings accessible telephonically or otherwise electronically to all members of the public seeking to observe the meeting and/or to address the governing board.

Based on these guidelines, the OPUSD Board of Education held a video conference/teleconference special meeting on May 12th. Members of the public were able to observe the meeting using a published live stream link. Members of the public were able to submit comments via an online form which opened at 3:30 pm on the day of the meeting and remained open for submission of comments until the end of the meeting.

## **BOARD PRESENT**

Ms. Barbara Laifman, President, Mr. Allen Rosen, Vice President, Mr. Drew Hazelton, Clerk, Mr. Derek Ross, Member, and Mrs. Denise Helfstein, Member

#### **BOARD ABSENT**

None

#### **PUBLIC COMMENTS**

None

#### ADJOURN TO CLOSED SESSION

Board President, Barbara Laifman reported that in Closed Session the Board would be discussing:

## A. SUPERINTENDENT EVALUATION (Gov. Code §54957)

The Board adjourned to Closed Session at 4:01 p.m.

## CALL TO ORDER/MEETING PLACE

The Board of Education President, Ms. Barbara Laifman, called the special meeting to order at 5:10 p.m.

#### **BOARD PRESENT**

Ms. Barbara Laifman, President, Mr. Allen Rosen, Vice President, Mr. Drew Hazelton, Clerk, Mr. Derek Ross, Member, and Mrs. Denise Helfstein, Member

# **BOARD ABSENT**

Anna Stephens, Student Board Member

## **STAFF PRESENT**

Dr. Tony Knight, Superintendent, Dr. Leslie Heilbron, Assistant Superintendent, Human Resources, Mr. Kevin Buchanan, Principal Oak Park High School, Mr. Kent Cromwell, Principal Oak Park Independent School and Oak View High School, Mr. Brad Benioff, Principal Medea Creek Middle School, Mrs., Erin Vranesh, Principal Brookside Elementary School, Ms. Stacy LaFrenz, Principal Red Oak Elementary

School, Mr. Erik Warren, Principal Oak Hills Elementary School, and Mrs. Ragini Aggarwal, Executive Assistant.

## FLAG SALUTE

Barbara Laifman led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

#### REPORT ON CLOSED SESSION

Board President, Barbara Laifman, reported that in closed session the Board took no action.

# **ADOPTION OF AGENDA**

On motion of Barbara Laifman, seconded by Allen Rosen, the Board of Education adopted the agenda as presented. Motion carried Aye: Hazelton, Helfstein, Laifman, Rosen, Ross. No - 0. Absent -0.

## **PUBLIC SPEAKERS**

## A. OPEN COMMUNICATIONS/PRESENTATIONS

- Presentation of the Marie Panec Educating Compassionate and Creative Global Citizens
  Award to students from Brookside, Red Oak and Oak Hills Elementary Schools, Medea Creek
  Middle School, Oak Park High School, Oak View High School and Oak Park Independent
  School.
- 2. Presentation of Retirement Recognition to Amanda Bagheri, Barbara Jones, Barbara Wechter, Grace McKeegan, Jan Sloane, Kathleen St. John, Ken Jones, Leslie Heilbron, Linda LaTourette, Maria Jimenez, Mary Klamecki, Randy McLelland, Sandra Iwanoff, Stephanie Love, and Victor Torres.

On motion of Drew Hazelton, seconded by Allen Rosen, there being no further business before this Board, the special meeting is declared adjourned at 8:06 p.m.

Date	President of the Board
Date	Clerk or Secretary of the Board